RMAG Foundation Teacher of the Year Award

Deadline extended!

Published Tuesday, May 5, 2020

The deadline for submitting applications for the award has been extended to June 8th. Apply today!

It's a hard time for teachers right now. With schools closed across the state of Colorado and teachers moving all their classroom work to online platforms, teachers have their hands full. Recognition of their effort may help ease the burden. We're helping the RMAG Foundation get the word out about their Teacher of the Year award, which recognizes great work being done in the earth sciences by K-12 teachers.

Are you, or do you know, a K-12 teacher who is doing excellent work in the earth sciences with their students? Whether it's teaching third graders about earthquakes or conducting field work with high school seniors, the RMAG Foundation wants to know about the great earth science teaching that's being done in schools. Read on for details, or download an application here. Applications are due June 8th.

In 2000, the Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists (RMAG) Foundation instituted an award to honor an elementary or secondary school teacher who has promoted teaching of Earth Science to K- 12 students. The winner receives a commemorative plaque and a $1000 cash award provided by the RMAG Foundation. The RMAG Foundation also awards the winner’s school with $1000 designated for its Earth Science program.

The applicant must have a proven record in teaching at an accredited K-12 school. The application package includes four required items:

  1. Completion of the application form including dated signatures from applicant and school administrator
  2. A summary of the course curriculum including:
    • Earth Science Teaching Philosophy
    • Description of your Earth Science course
    • How you and your school will use the award
  3. One letter of recommendation from a school administrator.
  4. One letter of recommendation from a colleague or parent of a student in your class.

The application deadline is June 8, 2020. The winner will be announced on or before May 22, 2020. The awardee will be honored at the Wednesday, August 5, 2020 RMAG luncheon, held at Maggiano’s Restaurant in downtown Denver, as a guest of the Foundation.

For questions, please contact Donna Anderson at dsanders@mines.edu.


Robert Bayless Producers