2019 Presentation Awards announced, 2020 award nominations sought

Published Tuesday, March 24, 2020

The Rocky Mountain Section of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (RMS-AAPG) has announced the winners of its 2019 Annual Conference Presentation Awards. The 2019 Annual Conference was held in Cheyenne, Wyoming, in September 2019. The Presentation Awards are given to those who present the best technical papers at the annual meeting. Authors gave over one-hundred-twenty-five oral and poster presentations on the geology of the Rocky Mountain region at the Cheyenne meeting. Judging on technical merit and presentation determined the winners.

Jeffrey W. Bader won the A.I. Levorsen Award for the best oral presentation with his paper titled, “Structural Inheritance and the Role of Basement Anisotropies in the Laramide Structural and Tectonic Evolution of the North American Cordilleran Foreland, Wyoming: Towards a Unified Hypothesis.” This award is given by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists and emphasizes creative thinking toward new ideas in exploration. Bader is a geologist with the North Dakota Geological Survey and is Director of the Wilson M. Laird Core and Sample Library in Grand Forks.

Chris Perfili won the Runge Award for the best student presentation with his paper titled, “Sedimentology and Reservoir Potential of Allochthonous Upper Desert Creek Carbonates, Southern Margin of the Aneth Complex (Middle Pennsylvanian), Paradox Basin, Utah”. His co-authors for the paper include Scott Ritter and Bob Lindsay with Brigham Young University and Peter Neilsen with the Utah Geological Survey. Perfili is a student at Brigham Young University and plans to graduate in December 2020. The Runge Award is sponsored by the Wyoming Geological Association in memory of John S. Runge. It was established in 1975 and recognizes professional and scientific excellence in student papers. 

Brian Toelle won the Steve Champlin Memorial Award for the best poster presentation with his presentation titled, “Potential Shale-Oil Reservoirs in the Eastern Bighorn Basin, Wyoming.” Co-authors of the paper include Marcin Pankau, Ranie Lynds and Pejman Tahmnasebi. Toelle is Professor of Practice at the University of Wyoming, Department of Petroleum Engineering. The Steve Champlin award was created in 1986 by the Wyoming Geological Association to encourage excellence in poster presentations, one-on-one discussions of geology and friendly cooperation for the exploration of natural resources. Professor Toelle was scheduled to present RMAG's April luncheon, which has unfortunately been cancelled. We are currently exploring other ways of bringing Professor Toelle's research to the RMAG community.

The RMS-AAPG is also seeking nominations for their 2020 achievement awards, including the Robert J. Weimer Lifetime Contribution Award, the RMS-AAPG Distinguished Service Award, the John D. Haun Landmark Publication Award, the Outstanding Young Professional Award, the Julie Lefever Memorial Award, and Teacher of the Year.

In this uncertain time, recognition by colleagues of outstanding work done in the field of geology can give winners, their colleagues and families a needed and welcome boost of morale. Please consider submitting nominations for good work you know about.

More Information

Download achievement award nomination form

Download Teacher of the Year nomination form 


April 1, 2020
500 16th St. Mall
April 6, 2020
2301 Blake Street
April 7, 2020
1325 Glenarm Pl