Professional Awards Committee

The RMAG Professional Awards Committee nominates outstanding geologic professionals, both RMAG members and nonmembers, who have made an impact on the RMAG community. Nominees are carefully selected from recommendations made by the RMAG membership as well as nonmembers from the geoscience community. Once nominees are identified, they are vetted and the most deserving are awarded the six RMAG Awards: Outstanding Scientist, Distinguished Service to RMAG, Geosciences in the Media, the Michael S. Johnson Explorer of the Year, Distinguished Service to RMAG, and the Distinguished Public Service to Earth Science awards.

The Professional Awards Committee also makes recommendations for the AAPG Honors & Awards. The committee relies on the RMAG membership in identifying deserving individuals. This committee welcomes new members. The Committee Chair for 2020 and beyond is Tracy Lombardi. If you are interested in joining this committee, Tracy can be contacted at, or you can fill out this committee application. The Professional Awards Committee relies on nominations from the RMAG membership and nonmembers from the geoscience community. If you have a nominee in mind, who has made outstanding contributions to the geologic community, please contact Tracy. 

See More Committees

RMAG Awards

AAPG Awards


Previous Awardees

Alpha Master List by Last Name

Honorary Members

Outstanding Explorers (Michael S. Johnson Explorer of the Year Award)

Outstanding Scientists

Distinguished Service to Earth Science

Distinguished Service to RMAG

Geosciences in the Media

Special Awards


Tracker Resource Development