Professional Awards Committee

The RMAG Professional Awards Committee nominates outstanding geologic professionals, who have made an impact on the RMAG community. Nominees are carefully selected from recommendations by the RMAG membership. Once the nominees are identified, they are awarded the Outstanding Scientist, Distinguished Service to RMAG, Geosciences in the Media, the Michael S. Johnson Explorer of the Year, Distinguished Service to RMAG, and the Distinguished Public Service to Earth Science awards.

The Professional Awards Committee also makes recommendations for the AAPG Honors & Awards. The committee relies on the RMAG membership in identifying deserving individuals. This committee welcomes new members. The Committee Chair for 2018 and beyond is Deborah Sycamore. If you are interested in joining this committee, Deborah can be contacted at, or you can fill out this committee applicationThe Professional Awards Committee relies on nominations from the RMAG membership. If you have a nominee in mind, who have made outstanding contributions to the geologic community, please contact Deborah. 

See More Committees

RMAG Awards

AAPG Awards


Previous Awardees

Alpha Master List by Last Name

Honorary Members

Outstanding Explorers (Michael S. Johnson Explorer of the Year Award)

Outstanding Scientists

Distinguished Service to Earth Science

Distinguished Service to RMAG

Geosciences in the Media

Special Awards